Bühler Motor Mechatronic Award 2015 presented

Dr. Arda Tüysüz honored for outstanding dissertation

Nuremberg, 2 November 2015 - "Novel Miniature Motors for Wide Speed and Torque Ranges": This was the title of the thesis with which Dr. Arda Tüysüz impressed the jury of the Bühler Motor Mechatronic Award.

The focus of this work is on powerful electric high-speed drives for use in confined spaces, e.g. tool heads such as those used in dental drills.

The Lateral Stator Machine (LSM) developed by Dr. Tüysüz has the stator and its windings use space at the side that has hitherto been unused. In contrast to the normal concentric positioning of the stator, the space requirement in the tool head can thus be kept to a minimum and at the same time the torque and power density can be considerably increased.

"By leaving the conventional coaxial concept for magnetic motor circuits, the so-called 'lateral stator machine' is able to utilize additional space for energy conversion, increasing overall system power density. This clever setup developed and perfectioned by Dr.Tüysüz truly shifts the feasible power limits for said applications significantly", stated Thomas Peterreins, Head of Technology Management at Bühler Motor GmbH in his congratulatory speech at the awards ceremony.

In this way, it will be possible, for example, to replace conventional, comparatively slow gear motor combinations (e.g. 40,000 rpm) with fast moving direct drives spinning at several hundred thousand revolutions per minute.

On the basis of his theoretical studies, Dr. Tüysüz ultimately developed a functioning prototype which he subjected to a comparison with state-of-the-art drives.

"For special applications in micro-processing technology, it is clear that an LSM has a local torque density that is three times that of a conventional cylindrical machine", Dr. Tüysüz states.

"We found that Dr.Tüysüz has covered all these topics with in-depth knowledge, thoroughness, creativity and remarkable persistency to arrive at a truly fascinating overall drive system", comments Thomas Peterreins.

The jury was made up of Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dieter Gerling from the Department of Electrical Propulsion Technology and Actuator Systems at the University of the Federal Armed Forces in Munich, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Franke from the Department of Manufacturing Automation and Production Systems at the Friedrich Alexander University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, PD Dr.-Ing. habil. Andreas Möckel from the Small Machinery Division of Ilmenau Technical University, Dr.-Ing. Ralph Böhm, Vice President Research & Development at Bu?hler Motor GmbH and Peter Muhr, President & CEO of Bu?hler Motor GmbH.

Entries for the Bühler Motor Mechatronic Award were once again invited by Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dieter Gerling, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Franke and PD Dr.-Ing. habil. Andreas Möckel in collaboration with Bühler Motor GmbH. The aim of the Award is to honor and promote outstanding achievements in first degree and Masters' dissertations and doctoral theses.
The Award was presented on 16 September 2015 as part of the E|DPC (5th International Electric Drives Production Conference and Exhibition in Nuremberg). The prize is worth €5,000.

back to overview